Jan
17
Fri
Crafternoons @ Ladd Library
Jan 17 @ 2:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Each week will feature a new type of craft like pottery. Try the featured craft via an introductory project using the necessary tools. This program is geared to tweens and teens.

Featured Topics:

Paper Cutting – Friday, December 6
Fairy Gardens – Friday, December 13
Graphic Design – Friday, December 20
Knitting – Friday, January 3
Block Prints – Friday, January 10
Zines – Friday, January 17*
Clay Monster – Friday, January 24*
Wire and Wood Mobiles – Friday, January 31
Paper Making – Friday, February 7*
Needle Felting – Friday, February 14
Watercolor on Wood – Friday, February 21
Photography – Friday, February 28

*Dates marked feature a special guest who will talk about and teach the craft going on that day. Registration for those events are required as supplies are limited.

Please register by calling the library or online at www.crlibrary.org on the events page.

We always recommend confirming details before attending. We hope to see you there!

Jan
18
Sat
STEAM Saturdays @ Ladd Library
Jan 18 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am

Saturday mornings are for investigation! Elementary aged children and parents/guardians/ care-givers are invited to participate in a STEAM project that they will work on individually or with others.

Participants will be encouraged to share their findings or work with the group. We will also celebrate the scientists, mathematicians, engineers, and artists who inspired today’s project.

Saturday, December 14 – Engineering: Building Challenge

Saturday, December 21- Math: Calculating Distance, Rate and Time

Saturday, December 28 – Making Snow and Slime

Saturday, January 4 – Computer Science: Making a Cardboard Guitar Play

Saturday, January 11- Art: Poured Canvas Art

Saturday, January 18 – Physics: Bubbles and Balloons

Saturday, January 25 – Ecology: Biomes vs Habitats

Saturday, February 1 – Biology: Building our Own Cell

Saturday, February 8 – Robotics: Make Your Own Robot

Saturday, February 15 – Acoustics: Seeing Sound

Saturday, February 22 – Art: Creating Optical Illusion Art

Saturday, February 29 – Optics: Explore Light with Prisms

We always recommend confirming details before attending. We hope to see you there!

Jan
20
Mon
Mother Goose on the Loose @ Ladd Library
Jan 20 @ 9:30 am – 10:30 am

“Mother Goose on the Loose” is a 20-minute nursery rhyme program for newborns to three-year-olds, followed by a 30-minute playtime. This program helps strengthen babies’ and toddlers’ foundation for literacy with rhymes, rhythm, repetition, story and movement.

We always recommend confirming details before attending. We hope to see you there!

School’s Out – Triangle Building Challenge @ Ladd Library
Jan 20 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Triangles are mighty, even if they are small! Come build geodesic domes and paper building models to test how high and how strong you can make these triangles go!

School’s out for the day! Each School’s Out program for children K-5 will give children the chance to try something new, fun (and maybe messy!). School’s Out programs provide a stimulating hour for elementary school children on days when school is not in session.

We always recommend confirming details before attending. We hope to see you there!