Cultural Corridor
HomepageCalendarOrganizationAboutNewsBlogLinksSearchContact UsWeekly Update
    Create a User Profile / Login Cultural Corridor
Want the latest info? Sign up for the Weekly Update!
News Archive
Calendar Search

  « October 2017 »  
Keyword Search
Advanced Search

  News Details
2014 Award Winners Announced at Celebration of the Arts
Posted: 11/20/2014

The Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance (ICCA) announced the winners of the 2014 Collaboration and Reaching Out Awards at Celebration of the Arts on November 18. The annual awards are designed to recognize ICCA partner organizations for their most innovative collaborative programming throughout the year. The ICCA Celebration of the Arts annual meeting luncheon was held at the University of Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame and featured a keynote presentation by Shawna Lode, Manager of the Iowa Tourism Office, and sponsored by the Iowa City/Coralville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau.

The ICCA Collaboration Award recognizes successful collaborations between ICCA members. Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature with the Iowa City Public Library, the Coralville Public Library, and the Iowa Children's Museum were recognized for their collaboration on organizing the One Book Two Book Children's Literature Festival. This annual festival attracts nearly 2,500 visitors during a weekend in January.

The Reaching Out Award recognizes a successful partnership between an ICCA member and a non-member organization. Orchestra Iowa was recognized for its collaboration with Ballet Quad Cities. The groups work jointly to present a newly staged and choreographed production of Igor Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. Over 1,800 Corridor-area 7th grade students were brought to the Paramount Theatre to see the production free of charge.

All ICCA partner organizations were eligible to nominate programming and vote on the ballot.

Individual awards were presented to Don Thompson as the recipient of the 2014 Larry Eckholt Award and David Bolt as the recipient of the 2014 Peggy Whitworth Award for Arts and Cultural Advocacy. The Eckholt Award recognizes a community member in the southern part of the Corridor, while the Whitworth Award recognizes a member of the northern part of the Corridor.

"We are fortunate to have visionary leaders like Don Thompson and David Bolt working hard to ensure quality cultural offerings here in the Corridor," said Sean Ulmer, ICCA's President of the Board of Directors. " We also have a strong spirit of collaboration in our local arts community and it is wonderful to have the opportunity to celebrate that together in an event like the Celebration of the Arts."

Celebration of the Arts is ICCA’s annual meeting event, intended to elevate the awareness of the artistic and cultural organizations in the Corridor and to celebrate the outstanding collaborations of ICCA partners.

Celebration of the Arts was made possible thanks to generous support provided by Hills Bank and Trust Company, MidAmerican Energy, and Rockwell Collins.

Attached File:
Celebration of the Arts Award Results Media Release 11.20.2014.pdf  ,(pdf)510k

« back

Home   |   Calendar   |   About   |   Organizations   |   Blog   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Privacy   |   Sitemap

Copyright © 2017 CulturalCorridor.Org  All Rights Reserved
900 First Avenue · Coralville, IA 52241 · 319.849.8ART(8278)
Web Application by Informatics, Inc.