Cultural Corridor
HomepageCalendarOrganizationAboutNewsBlogLinksSearchContact UsWeekly Update
    Create a User Profile / Login Cultural Corridor
Want the latest info? Sign up for the Weekly Update!
Calendar Search

  « October 2017 »  
Keyword Search
Advanced Search

  Culture Corner - Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance Blog
ICCA Announces Presenters for 5th Annual Icky Honors
posted: Monday, January 24, 2011  Post Comment

Hello everyone,

The presenters for the 2011 ICCA Annual Meeting and Icky Honors are now available. Read the press release below:

The Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance (ICCA), a group of over 150 arts and cultural organizations in the Eastern Iowa Corridor of Linn, Johnson and the nine adjacent counties, will present its 5th Annual Meeting and Excellence in Innovation Honors on Monday, January 31, 2011 from 6:30-9:00 p.m. at The Englert Theatre in Iowa City. The Emmy-like event, well known in the Corridor as The Ickys, was created to elevate the awareness of artistic and cultural organizations in the Corridor and to celebrate excellence in innovation in artistic programming and events from the previous calendar year. Honors will be given out in 10 categories. All ICCA partners, associates, and community members are invited to attend.

Presenters of the Icky Honors will include Congressman Dave Loebsack, Cedar Rapids Mayor Ron Corbett, Coralville Mayor Jim Fausett, former director of the Department of Cultural Affairs Cyndi Pederson, President and CEO of The Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation Les Garner, Johnson County Supervisor Terrence Neuzil, Linn County Supervisor Ben Rogers, and representatives from several ICCA partner organizations.

Special recognition and Icky Honors will also be given to David Kilpatrick, immediate Past-President of the ICCA Board, and Joe Jennison, former Executive Director of ICCA.

In addition to the Icky Honors, two awards will be presented to individuals who exemplify passion and commitment to the cultural vitality of the Corridor. Mark Ginsberg, president and owner of M.C. Ginsberg Inc., will be recognized as the 2010 Larry Eckholt Award winner. Tobin Eckholt, son of Larry Eckholt, will present the award. James Kern, executive director of Brucemore, Inc., will be recognized as the 2010 Cultural Advocate Award winner. Peggy Whitworth, Director of Resource Development at The Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation, will present the award.

Featured performers at the event include the following ICCA partners who are celebrating special milestone anniversaries: International Academy for Russian Music, Arts, and Culture (5th anniversary of Seven String Guitar Festival), City of Mount Vernon (5th anniversary of Chalk the Walk), Summer of the Arts (20th year celebration of JazzFest and Friday Night Concert Series), Mount Vernon-Lisbon Community Theatre (30th anniversary), University of Iowa Division of Performing Arts (30th anniversary of Dance Gala), Chamber Singers of Iowa City (40th anniversary), and Brucemore (100th anniversary of Formal Gardens).

The honors will be hosted by Scott Schulte and Ric Swann from KZIA 102.9.

Prior to the performances, receptions will be held at the Iowa Artisans Gallery and Chait Galleries Downtown starting at 5:30 p.m.

Tickets for the 2011 Icky Honors are on sale now through The Englert Theatre box office for $20.

The 2011 Icky Honors are sponsored by ACT and Alliant Energy. Additional support is provided by The Englert Theatre, Goodfellow Printing, Inc., and West Music. Continued support is provided by the Cedar Rapids Area Convention & Visitors Bureau, the Corridor Business Journal, and the Iowa City/Coralville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau. More information regarding The Ickys can be found on ICCA’s website,


2011 ICCA Annual Meeting and Icky Honors - Full List of Presenters

2010 Dance Programming Honor:  Presented by Marilee Fowler, President and CEO, Cedar Rapids Area Convention & Visitors Bureau and Josh Schamberger, President, Iowa City/Coralville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau

2010 Children’s Programming Honor: Presented by Jackie McCall, Director of Education, The Old Creamery Theatre Company and Sean Ulmer, Curator, Cedar Rapids Museum of Art

2010 Visual Arts Exhibit/Programming Honor: Presented by Christy Frost, Communications Director, Orchestra Iowa and Kehry Lane, President of the Board, Iowa City Community Theatre

2010 Music Programming Honor: Presented by Terrence Neuzil, Johnson County Supervisor and Ben Rogers, Linn County Supervisor

2010 Locally Produced Festival Honor: Presented by Tom Newport, Designer, Icky Honors Statues and John Lohman, Publisher, Corridor Business Journal

2010 History Exhibit/Programming Honor: Presented by the Honorable Ron Corbett, Mayor of the City of Cedar Rapids and the Honorable Jim Fausett, Mayor of the City of Coralville

2010 Educational Programming Honor: Presented by Deb Dunkhase, Executive Director, The Iowa Children’s Museum and Jason Wright, Vice President of Development, National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library

2010 Theatre Programming Honor: Presented by new ICCA Board Members Lisa Barnes, Executive Director, Summer of the Arts, Ellen Habel, Assistant City Administrator, City of Coralville, Amber Mussman, Public Information Officer and Adult Programming Coordinator, Cedar Rapids Public Library, and Jacob Yarrow, Programming Director, Hancher

2010 ICCA Collaborative Honor (collaborations between ICCA partners): Presented by Cyndi Pederson, Former Director, Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and Les Garner, President and CEO, The Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation

2010 Reaching Out Honor (collaboration between ICCA and non-ICCA partners): Presented by Dave Loebsack, United States Congressman

2010 Larry Eckholt Award—Mark C. Ginsberg: Presented by Tobin Eckholt, son of Larry Eckholt

2010 Cultural Advocate Award—James Kern: Presented by Peggy Whitworth, Director of Resource Development, The Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation

Post Comment | 0 Comment(s) | Back to Listingback to top

Comments for: ICCA Announces Presenters for 5th Annual Icky Honors
* You must be logged in to add comments to a blog entry. » Login now

Home   |   Calendar   |   About   |   Organizations   |   Blog   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Privacy   |   Sitemap

Copyright © 2017 CulturalCorridor.Org  All Rights Reserved
900 First Avenue · Coralville, IA 52241 · 319.849.8ART(8278)
Web Application by Informatics, Inc.